

MINUTES

DATE: TIME: LOCATION: January 27, 2020 3:00 PM 200 Lyceum

General Education Committee

The regular meeting of the General Education Committee was called to order by co-chair, Noel Wilkin at 3:00 PM.

A quorum was achieved with 15 of 18 voting members and 5 of 6 non-voting members in attendance. Members present:

Dr. Bahram Alidaee

Dr. Lee M. Cohen

Dr. Bob Cummings (NV)

Ms Ella Endorf (NV) (Represented by

Cameron Buss)

Dr. Josh Eyler

Dr. Rich Forgette (NV)

Dr. Jaime L. Harker

Dr. Ashley Jones-Bodie

Dr. Kate Kellum (NV)

Dr. Mervin R. Matthew

Dr. Stephen Monroe

Dr. Deborah S. Mower

Dr. Christopher L. Mullen

Dr. Noa Vacarcel Ares

Dr. James Reid

Dr. Holly T. Reynolds (NV)

Dr. Michael T. Rowlett

Dr. Noel E. Wilkin

Dr. Amy E. Wells Dolan

Dr. Debora R. Wenger

Approval of Minutes

The committee unanimously approved Minutes from the October 28, 2019, and November 25, 2019 meetings as posted.

General Education Subcommittee Business

The committee unanimously approved the proposed Critical Thinking student learning outcomes as proposed:

- 1. Conceptualize complex issues or problems
- 2. Gather pertinent facts or ideas to explore complex issues or problems

- 3. Interpret data and appraise evidence
- 4. Distinguish, compare, or contrast diverse points of view and/or alternative conclusions
- 5. Articulate personal insights about complex issues or problems

 Communicate a reasonable and effective argument, response, or conclusion (ThinkForward QEP, pp. 28-29)

Written Communication Subcommittee provided a brief update and will give a full presentation at the February 24, 2020 meeting.

General Education Committee Business

EDHE Opportunities for partnership working group will provide a report at the February 24, 2020 meeting.

General Education Comprehensive Review – Noel Wilkin distributed a handout detailing the structure of the General Education curriculum. The committee discussed the structure and recommended changes (see attached).

Holly motioned to have a subcommittee to reexamine the values. Stephen seconded. The general education committee unanimously approved the development of a subcommittee to examine the general education values.

Subcommittee Members:

Dr. Jaime L. Harker

Dr. Bob Cummings

Dr. Stephen Monroe

Dr. Holly Reynolds

Dr. Amy E. Wells Dolan

Dr. Bahram Alidee

Dr. Rich Forgette

Dr. Deborah S. Mower

Dr. Debora R. Wenger

Dr. Kate Kellum

Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 4:07 PM

General Education Committee Alignment

